North Shore Medical Center is a private, non-profit organization, governed by a local board of trustees. Our board of trustees is listed below, followed by our senior management team and our medical leadership (chiefs, chairs, vice chairs, and officers).
Bob Norton CEO of North Shore Medical Center
Robert G. Norton, President of North Shore Medical Center, and David Torchiana, M.D., President and CEO of Partners HealthCare

NSMC Board of Trustees

  • Richard C. Bane
  • Kevin T. Bottomley
  • James L. Demetroulakos, M.D.
  • Charles F. Desmond
  • John P. Drislane
  • Arthur J. Epstein
  • Jennifer Flanagan
  • Richard E. Holbrook, Chairman
  • David W. Ives
  • Anthony A. Klein
  • J. Brian McCarthy
  • Terence A. McGinnis
  • Maury E. McGough, M.D.
  • Robert G. Norton, President
  • Mary G. Puma
  • David J. Roberts, M.D.
  • Marc S. Rubin, M.D.
  • Jeffrey N. Shribman
  • Shirley Singleton
  • Gary A. Spiess

Ex-Officio Trustees

  • Robert Norton, President of NSMC
  • James L. Demetroulakos, MD

Senior Management

  • Sara Andrews, Senior Vice President, Development
  • Janet Barnes, Vice President, Quality and Patient Safety
  • Mark Blass, Executive Director, North Shore Health System
  • Sally Mason Boemer, Senior Vice President/Chief Financial Officer
  • Arthur Bowes, Senior Vice President, Human Resources
  • Mary Jo Gagnon, Senior Vice President, Operations
  • Francis X. Hinkley, Chief Information Officer
  • Steven E. Kapfhammer, President and COO, North Shore Physicians Group
  • Cheryl Merrill, R.N., M.S.N., N.E.A.-B.C., Senior Vice President, Patient Care Services & CNO
  • Mitchell S. Rein, M.D., Chief Medical Officer, Senior Vice President for Medical Affairs
  • Roxanne Ruppel, Senior Vice President, Operations

Medical Leadership (as of 2016)


  • James L. Demetroulakos, M.D., President of the Medical Staff
  • Christine Blaski, M.D., President Elect/Chair of Credentialing Committee
  • Christine Blaski, M.D., Secretary Treasurer of Medical Staff
  • Michael Goldstein, M.D., Immediate Past President
  • Mitchell S. Rein, M.D., Chief Medical Officer and Sr. V.P. Medical Affairs

Department Chairs and Vice Chairs


  • Chair -- Johanna O'Connor, M.D.
  • Vice Chair -- Wilfred R. Lewis, M.D.


  • Chair -- Everett Lyn, M.D.
  • Vice Chair --Phillip L. Rice, Jr. M.D.

Family Medicine

  • Chair -- Keith C. Nobil, M.D.
  • Vice Chair -- Natasha Shah, M.D.


  • Chair -- David J. Roberts, M.D.
  • Vice Chair -- Jacob Karas, M.D.

Obstetrics and Gynecology

  • Chair -- Allyson L. Preston, M.D.
  • Vice Chair -- Alexy Kochowiec, M.D.

Orthopedic Surgery

  • Chair -- Todd O'Brien, M.D.


  • Chair -- Bruce A. Beckwith, M.D.
  • Vice Chair -- Anthony R. Mattia, M.D.


  • Chair -- Mark H. Mandell, M.D.
  • Vice Chair -- Donald T. McAuliffe, Jr., M.D.


  • Chair -- Mark Schechter, M.D.
  • Vice Chair -- Patricia M. Walsh, M.D.
  • Vice Chair -- Jefferson B. Prince, M.D.

Radiation Oncology

  • Chair -- James Francis McIntyre, M.D.


  • Chair -- M. Christian Semine, M.D.
  • Vice Chair -- Miriam L. Neuman, M.D.


  • Chair -- Marc Rubin, M.D.
  • Vice Chair, Quality and Safety -- Todd M. O’Brien, M.D.

Department Chiefs

Department of Medicine
  • Chair of Medicine -- David J. Roberts, M.D.
  • Chief of Allergy, James A. MacLean, M.D.
  • Chief of Cardiology, David J. Roberts, M.D.
  • Chief of Dermatology, Mark A. Lewis, M.D.
  • Chief of Endocrinology, Paul M. Copeland, M.D.
  • Chief of Gastroenterology, Albert Namias, M.D.
  • Chief of General Medicine, Maury E. McGough, M.D.
  • Chief of Hematology/Oncology, Joel H. Schwartz, M.D.
  • Chief of Hospital Medicine, Hans Jeppesen, M.D.
  • Chief of Nephrology, Mitchell S. Jacobson, M.D.
  • Chief of Neurology, Andrew H. Leader-Cramer, M.D.
  • Chief of Palliative Care, Coleen Reid, M.D.
  • Chief of Pulmonary/Critical Care, Barrett Tyler Kitch, M.D.
  • Chief of Rheumatology, Khalid, M. Syed, M.D.

Department of Pediatrics

  • Chair of Pediatrics -- Mark H. Mandell, M.D.
  • Chief of Neonatal Medicine -- Sanjay Aurora, M.D.
  • Chief of Pediatric Neurology -- Edgar Y. Oppenheimer, M.D.
  • Interim Chief of Pediatric Emergency Medicine -- Elizabeth A. Coray, M.D.

Department of Surgery

  • Chair of Surgery -- Marc Rubin, M.D.
  • Chief of Cardiac Surgery -- Ann Toran, M.D.
  • Chief of General Surgery -- William V. Kastrinakis, M.D.
  • Chief of Neurosurgery -- Michael Medlock, M.D.
  • Chief of Ophthalmology -- Robert Freedman, M.D.
  • Chief of Oral Surgery -- Bart Blaeser, DM.D.
  • Chief of Otolaryngology -- James L. Demetroulakos, M.D.
  • Chief of Pediatric Surgery -- Daniel P. Doody, M.D.
  • Interim Chief of Plastic Surgery -- Richard A. Peinert, M.D.
  • Chief of Podiatry -- Paul Peicott, DPM
  • Chief of Thoracic Surgery -- Christopher R. Morse, M.D.
  • Chief of Urology -- Thomas E. Kingston, M.D.
  • Chief of Vascular Surgery -- Richard D. Goodenough, M.D.