Trauma Center

NSMC has been certified a Level III Trauma Center by the American College of Surgeons. Level III certification recognizes our ability to provide optimal care for critically injured patients.
NSMC is a Level Three Trauma Center

Requirements for Level III Designation

  • 24-hour-a-day coverage by trauma-trained surgeons
  • Emergency department physicians and nurses
  • 24-hour-a-day access to anesthesia, laboratory and radiology services
In addition, NSMC's Trauma Center works closely with state and regional agencies on injury prevention programs and education.

The achievement of gaining Level III designation reflects the ongoing hard work and commitment of physicians, caregivers and staff in the Emergency Department and throughout the Medical Center. It is also a reminder of the vitally important life-saving resources that the entire NSMC family provides to our community.